Bad Attitudes and Group Cake

Inspirit Training

Image

“There are times when I think that the group has an attitude to me and that I can state in words what that attitude is; there are times when another individual acts as if he also thought the group had an attitude to him and I believe I can deduce what his belief is; there are times when I think that the group has an attitude to an individual and that I can say what it is.” (extract from Wilfred Bion’s Experiences in Groups 1961)

Group life is a seamless flow of experience. If we take one small slice of this multi-layer group gateau and explore its constituents, there are enough ingredients to keep us busy for quite some time. As Bion states, in group it is impossible to do ‘nothing’. It is within each individuals’ silences that ‘anonymous contributions’ are made. Each person quietly acquiescing or resisting a prevailing…

View original post 357 more words

Leave a Reply

